Waratah Warriors AFL footy logo
The Waratah Football Club is the only Club with an involvement in every year the competition has been played in Darwin. The club was formed in 1916, and is one of the original foundation clubs of the NTFL.

The Waratah Football Club has won 15 League Premierships (including 3 consecutive Premierships from 1928/29 to 1930/31). The League side broke a 21-year drought in the 1998/99 season to win the League Premiership and followed this up with a back-to-back Premiership in 1999/2000. The Reserve Grade won the Premiership for 3 consecutive years over this period with Premiership wins in 1997/98, 1998/99 and 1999/2000.

The prestigious AFLNT Nichols Medal has been won by 8 legends of the Club, with one of these players to have won dual medals. Waratah players who have played in the AFL include Dean Rioli (Essendon) and Tom Logan (Brisbane Lions).

Waratah Warriors

Home Ground
Gardens Oval, Gilruth Avenue, Darwin

Gardens Oval is the former home of the NTFL and is located near Darwin’s CBD.