Northern Territory Football League

NTFL logo
Founded in 1916, the Northern Territory Football League (NTFL) is AFLNT’s Premier Football Competition. It is the only footy competition that runs from October to March each year, operating in the unique conditions of the Top End’s Wet Season.

The league consists of a three tiered divisional senior men’s competition, a strong and fast growing women’s competition and under 12, 14, 16 & 18 competitions that cater for underage males and females.

Northern Territory Football League

Local Media
NT News

Situated on the Timor Sea, Darwin is the largest city in the NT, with a population of approximately 140,000. It is the smallest and most northerly of the Australian capital cities, and acts as the Top End’s regional centre.

Darwin’s proximity to South East Asia makes it an important Australian gateway to countries such as Indonesia and East Timor. The Stuart Highway begins in Darwin, ending at Port Augusta in South Australia.

The Darwin region, like the rest of the Top End, has a tropical climate, with a wet and a dry season. The city is noted for its consistently warm to hot climate, all throughout the year. Prone to cyclone activity during the wet season, Darwin experiences heavy monsoonal downpours and spectacular lightning shows.

Having been almost entirely rebuilt twice, once due to Japanese air raids during World War II, and again after being devastated by Cyclone Tracy in 1974, the city is one of Australia’s most modern capitals.

Premier Clubs

Other Clubs