Jabiru Bombers AFL logo
The Jabiru Bombers Football Club began in the 1982/83 season and was an inaugural member of the Top End Australian Football Association (TEAFA) competition. In 2010/11 the TEAFA and NTFL merged.

The Bombers comprise mainly players from the Jabiru region but a number of players are located in other centres such as Darwin, Batchelor, East and South Alligator and Patonga.

Their travelling and commitment record is unequalled in the Northern Territory for a remote area side that plays in a metropolitan football competition. The Bombers travel over 550 km eight to 12 times a season. On some occasions when the Arnhem Highway is flooded they travel via Pine Creek travelling over 900 km to Darwin and back.

Darwin Buffaloes premiership player and club champion Greg Bonson captain-coached the Bombers in their first season. The Bombers have won two NTFL Division 1 premierships and two NTFL Division 2 premierships. They dropped out of the Division 1 competition before the 1997/98 season after finishing fourth the previous year.

Jabiru Bombers

Facebook group

Local Media
Jabiru Bombers the last footy team in town

Home Ground
Brockman Oval, Kinchela Road, Jabiru

The town of Jabiru was originally built in 1982 as a closed town to house the community living at Jabiru East near the Ranger Uranium Mine 8 km away. Both the mine and the town are completely surrounded by Kakadu National Park.

1988/89, 1989/90