Western Australian Football League logo
The WAFL was founded in 1885 as the West Australian Football Association (WAFA), and has undergone a variety of name changes since then, re-adopting its current name in 2001. For most of its existence, the league was considered one of the traditional “big three” Australian rules football leagues, along with the VFL and SANFL.

The league currently consists of 10 teams – Claremont, East Fremantle, East Perth, Peel Thunder, Perth, South Fremantle, Subiaco, Swan Districts, West Coast and West Perth.

The teams play each other in a 20-round season from April to September, with the top five teams playing off in a finals series, culminating in a Grand Final.

The WAFL is governed by the West Australian Football Commission (WAFC), which is the caretaker of football throughout the State and is responsible for the overall development of the game.

Western Australian Football League

Perth is the capital and largest city of WA. It is the fourth-most populous city in Australia, with an estimated population of more than 2 million living in Greater Perth. Perth was originally founded by Captain James Stirling in 1829 as the administrative centre of the Swan River Colony. The city is named after Perth, Scotland, by influence of Sir George Murray, then British Secretary of State for War.