Newman National Football League logo
The Newman National Football League is named after the mining centre of Newman. The league was founded in 1972 with three clubs – Centrals, Saints and Tigers. In 1975 a fourth club, Pioneers, joined the competition.

Newman National Football League

Facebook group

Local Media
Pilbara Echo

Newman is a town in the Pilbara region of WA. It is located 1,186 km north of Perth, and 9 km north of the Tropic of Capricorn. It was built in the 1960s by the Mount Newman Mining Company, following the discovery of rich iron deposits on nearby Mount Whaleback. The town takes its name from nearby Mount Newman, named in honour of A.W. Newman, an early explorer who died of typhoid fever just before reaching the area in 1896.