Glenorchy Magpies AFL logo
The club is nicknamed the Magpies after its black and white playing strip, and was originally known as New Town Football Club (wearing a green and white strip) when it started out as a member of the Tasmanian Football League in 1921.

New Town changed its name to Glenorchy in 1957 after absorbing the already established club Glenorchy Rovers and relocated its headquarters to KGV Oval at Glenorchy in Hobart’s northern suburbs in the same year. It remains there to this day.

After the death of the Tasmanian Football League in December 2000, the club was temporarily without a league to play in.

After some political maneuvering within football circles, Glenorchy were admitted to the Southern Football League, but at a high price, with the club being forced, as a condition of entry to the League, to give up its black and white playing strip, and its Magpies emblem as it clashed with former Southern Amateur club Claremont Magpies, who were already a member of the SFL.

Glenorchy announced in early 2001 that they would adopt a new green, black & white playing uniform, and be known as the “Glenorchy Storm”. This was not popular with fans who drifted away from the club, and its membership and support base decreased rapidly.

There was to be considerable rejoicing amongst its fans in 2004, after persistent pressure from the club, and the fact that Claremont were now playing in the SFL Regional League, which resulted in Glenorchy being granted the return of its black and white strip, and the Magpie emblem.

Glenorchy Magpies

Home Ground
KGV Oval, Anfield Street, Glenorchy

Glenorchy is a business district and suburb in the northern part of greater Hobart in Tasmania. The land was originally used for agriculture (particularly orchards) but is now a largely suburban, working-class area. Glenorchy is believed to have been so named by governor Lachlan Macquarie after his wife’s home in Scotland. The name means ‘glen of tumbling waters’.

1935, 1948-49, 1951, 1953, 1955, 1958, 1965, 1975, 1983, 1985-86, 1999, 2007-08, 2016