Swansea Swans AFL logo2
The Swansea Swans compete in the Oatlands District Football Association. The club has been a member of the ODFA since 2002.

Swansea has participated in numerous different competitions over the years, and has usually managed to find success. Its most noteworthy era came immediately after World War II when it competed in the East Coast Football Association, a competition which ran from 1946 to 1958. During that time Swansea was easily the Association’s most successful club, reaching 10 out of 13 possible grand finals for 7 flags.

After the ECFA went into mothballs Swansea spent roughly a quarter of a century competing in the Fingal District Football Association, claiming further senior flags in 1966, 1978 and 1982. The side was also runner-up on four occasions. More recently, Swansea has enjoyed premiership success in both the Tasman Football Association (1999 and 2001) and the Oatlands District Football Association (2004 and 2007).

Swansea Swans

Home Ground
Swansea Football Ground, Wellington Street, Swansea

Swansea is a town in the heart of Tasmania’s east coast, on the northwest shore of Great Oyster Bay and overlooking Freycinet National Park. It was the first municipality in Australia to be established after Hobart and Sydney. Swansea was settled in 1821 when George Meredith, his family and workers arrived from Pembrokeshire, Wales.

1949, 1951, 1953, 1955-56-57-58, 1966, 1978, 1982, 1999, 2001, 2004, 2007