Bordertown Roosters AFL logo
The Bordertown Roosters is part of the Kowree-Naracoorte-Tatiara League. Our Mission is to make the Bordertown Football Club a successful and safe club for members, players and visitors by creating opportunities, building character and respect for one another.

The Bordertown Football Club was established in 1908 and became a founder member of the Tatiara District Football Association three years later. When organised football recommenced after world war one, Bordertown again competed in the TDFA, and claimed the first post-war premiership in 1919. The club remained in this competition under its subsequent names of the Tatiara Football Association and Tatiara Football League until 1993, when football in the region was reorganised under the auspices of the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League.

Bordertown enjoyed frequent success prior to 1993, claiming 18 senior grade premierships from a total of 44 grand finals. After a long period of frustration the Roosters finally broke through to claim their first senior grade KNTFL premiership in 2012. In a tough, tight, tense grand final they held off a fast finishing Kaniva Leeor United to edge home by 7 points.

Among the most noteworthy players to line up with the Roosters down the years were quadruple Mail Medallist Hank Budel, and Dennis Murch whose senior career with the club spanned 27 seasons.

Bordertown Roosters

Facebook group

Home Ground
Bordertown Oval, Naracoorte Road, Bordertown

Bordertown is a small South Australian town near the Victorian border. It is where the Dukes Highway and the railway line, the two main routes between Adelaide and Melbourne, cross Tatiara Creek. Bordertown was established in 1852 when a direct route across the 90-mile desert was being planned for gold escorts from the Victorian goldfields to Adelaide. It is the birthplace of former Prime Minister of Australia, Bob Hawke.

1919-20, 1922-23, 1926, 1939, 1949, 1957, 1967-68, 1971-72, 1975-76, 1984, 1986-87, 1990, 2012