Border Districts Eagles AFL logo2
Border Districts, as the name implies, straddles the border between South Australia and Victoria, and splits its home fixtures between the South Australian town of Frances and the Victorian town of Goroke.

The club was originally formed in 1951 by means of a merger between the Frances and Minimay Football Clubs.

The newly merged club competed initially in the Kowree Naracoorte Football League. The Eagles contested their first grand final in 1957, but it was in the 1960s that they really began to flex their muscles, reaching every grand final except two between 1960 and 1967, winning two flags. Even better was to follow as the most successful phase in the club’s history to date occurred from 1975 to 1982 when no fewer than 5 premierships were won.

When the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League was established in 1993, Border Districts was one of fourteen foundation members.

Border Districts Eagles

Facebook group

Home Grounds
Frances Football Oval, East Terrace, Frances

Goroke Oval, Main Street, Goroke

Frances is a town in South Australia, located 321 km southeast of Adelaide. It is located on the broad gauge railway from Wolseley to Mount Gambier in a grain-growing area. Despite the closure of the railway in 1995, Frances continues to be a major receiving point for grain, with several large silos.

Named after the Aboriginal term for the Australian magpie, the Victorian town of Goroke was established in 1882 as a supply centre for local selectors. The town is based around primary production, including woolgrowing and fat lamb and mutton production, beef cattle, cropping, forestry, wine grape production and yabby cultivation.

1957, 1962, 1967, 1975-76, 1979-80-81, 1991