AFL Darling Downs logo
The Darling Downs Australian Football League was first played as an official organised competition in 1971. Signals, Coolaroo and Aviation were the 3 foundation clubs and were joined by a fourth club, South Toowoomba, in 1972.

The League has had many changes to the amount of clubs participating since then, with 11 senior clubs currently competing. It is now known as AFL Darling Downs and is the largest regional League in Queensland. There are 4 Senior clubs based in Toowoomba, and the other senior clubs come from Dalby, Gatton, Goondiwindi, Highfields and Warwick. New teams from Kingaroy and Chinchilla began participating in a revamped competition in 2013.

AFL Darling Downs

Local Media
The Chronicle

The Darling Downs is a farming region on the western slopes of the Great Dividing Range in southern Queensland. The region was named after the then Governor of NSW, Ralph Darling by Allan Cunningham, an early Australian explorer.

The largest city and commercial centre of the Darling Downs is Toowoomba, about 132 km west of Brisbane. Other towns situated on what is now called the Downs include Dalby, Warwick, Stanthorpe, Wallangarra, Goondiwindi, Oakey, Miles, Pittsworth, Allora, Clifton, Cecil Plains, Drayton, Millmerran, Nobby and Chinchilla.