AFL Capricornia logo
The league began in 1972 with local clubs in Allenstown, Depot Hill and Parkhurst. In 1973 the competition expanded its horizons with clubs playing in Rockhampton and Gladstone, and later Blackwater, Biloela and Yeppoon. At one stage there were 8 teams in the competition.

The RAFA again changed its name from Rockhampton to Capricornia, then a few years later changed the word Association to League, becoming the Capricornia AFL. With the restructuring of Australian football competitions at the instigation of the AFL in 2000, the league was renamed AFL Capricornia. The representative team is known as the Cyclones.

AFL Capricornia

Local Media
The Morning Bulletin

Central Queensland (also known as Capricornia) is an area of Queensland that centres on the eastern coast, around the Tropic of Capricorn. Major cities in the region are Emerald, Gladstone and Rockhampton. Some communities on the Capricorn Coast include Byfield, Yeppoon, Great Keppel Island, Emu Park and Cawarral.