North Shore Bombers AFL logo
The North Shore Bombers compete in the Premier Division of the Sydney AFL competition and is one of its foundation members, having commenced in 1903 (as the Bears).

We are one of the Sydney AFL’s most successful clubs, having won 13 senior premierships since 1903. The club only missed playing in the Sydney AFL Grand Final once between 2000 and 2007.

North Shore has a strong emphasis on youth development and many players have gone onto play in the AFL including Lewis Roberts-Thompson (Sydney), Henry Playfair (Geelong and Sydney), Ryan Davis (rookie listed by West Coast in 2008), Will Sierakowski (Hawthorn and North Melbourne) and Richard Newell (rookie listed by Brisbane in 2011) and Sam Naismith (rookie listed by Sydney in 2012).

In 2011, the club introduced a third senior team to accommodate the growing number of players taking up the game in Sydney.

North Shore Bombers

Home Ground
Gore Hill Oval, St. Leonards

The North Shore is a term used to describe the primarily residential area of northern metropolitan Sydney. The term refers to the suburbs located on the north shore of Sydney Harbour up to Hornsby and between Middle Harbour and the Lane Cove River. The suburb of St Leonards was named after English statesman Thomas Townshend (1733 – 1800), 1st Viscount Sydney of St Leonards.

1904, 1909, 1921, 1952, 1961, 1978-79, 1985, 1991, 2001, 2004-05, 2007