Holroyd Parramatta Blacktown Goannas AFL logo
The Goannas are based in the Western Suburbs of Sydney. They currently have teams in the First Division, Fourth Division and Fifth Division of the Sydney AFL league.

The club formed in 1979 (reserves only) as Parramatta with a senior team instigated in 1980. The club changed its name to Holroyd-Parramatta in 1983 before a merger with Blacktown in 1995.

Arguably the Goannas most famous player was Mark Taylor, who won the club’s best and fairest award in 1983, and later went on to captain the Australian Test cricket team. Taylor is the current club patron of the Goannas.

Holroyd-Parramatta-Blacktown Goannas

Facebook group

Home Ground
Gipps Road Oval, Greystanes

Greystanes is a suburb of Sydney, located 29 km west of the Sydney CBD in the local government area of the City of Holroyd. The name “Grey Stanes” came from the outcrops of basalt on Prospect Hill, “Grey” being its colour and “Stanes” being the Scottish word for stones.

1984, 2000-01