AFL North West NSW logo
Originally known as the Tamworth Australian Football League, AFL North West NSW is based in the Tamworth and New England region of New South Wales. The league began as a “pub competition” in Tamworth in 1997, with four 12-a-side teams, but has since grown to a regional league with 7 teams based in 6 towns.

AFL North West NSW

Local Media
The Northern Daily Leader

Straddling the Peel River, Tamworth was founded in 1850 and is the major regional centre for the New England region. Approximately 318 km from the Queensland border, the city is located almost midway between Brisbane and Sydney. It is named after the town of Tamworth, Staffordshire, in England.