Tuggeranong Hawks AFL logo
The club was formed in 1968 by a group of Department of Supply employees, recently transferred to Canberra from Melbourne. Adopting red and white as its colours, the team bore the name of Eastlake-Woden in recognition of the fact that it was sponsored by the Eastlake Football Club. Eastlake-Woden later became South Woden, and later still Sutherland. In 1976 Sutherland was admitted to the ACTAFL at under 19 level before adding reserves and senior teams in 1977 and 1979.

Initially, the team found the going tough, but following a name change to Tuggeranong in 1983 fortunes began to improve. In 1986, under captain-coach Hans Heystraten, premiership success was finally achieved following a thrilling one-point grand final defeat of Queanbeyan.

In 1994 the club welcomed former St Kilda, Ainslie and Central District identity Kevin “Cowboy” Neale as senior coach and immediately adopted the Cowboys emblem, which it retained until forging an alliance with AFL club Hawthorn in 2003, whereupon it became known as the Hawks.

Tuggeranong Hawks

Home Ground
Greenway Oval, Soward Way, Tuggeranong

The District of Tuggeranong is the southernmost town centre of Canberra. It comprises 19 suburbs and occupies 117 square km to the east of the Murrumbidgee River. The name Tuggeranong is derived from a Ngunnawal expression meaning “cold place”.

1986, 2015