Goulburn Swans AFL logo
An Australian Rules Club was formed in Goulburn in 1930, when Frank Panther and a group of enthusiasts called a meeting at which Mr Schultz was elected patron. Goulburn colours were pale blue and they were known as the Waratahs.

The first game played at Goulburn was between two Sydney teams, Newtown and Sydney, and was played at the showground. In 1930, before one of the largest crowds to see a football match in Goulburn, Mr Schultz started the game by flying over the ground in his private plane and dropping the football for the commencment of play.

Goulburn folded in 1936 and it wasn’t until 1965 when Warren Tansley who was an avid Hawthorn supporter decided he would start up a Aussie Rules team in Goulburn, the Goulburn Hawks. The Hawks won premierships in 1972, 1990 and 1991. Goulburn amalgamated with Bargo in 1996 and 1997. In 1998 they went on there own again but folded at the end of 1998 season.

After the Hawks folded in 1998 Aussie Rules in Goulburn went into recess until 2003 when Michael and Robert Dillon put an advertisement in the Goulburn Post looking for people interested in forming an Aussie Rules Football Team in Goulburn. From that advertisement Geoff Bell was to become President, Michael Dillon Treasurer and Robert Dillon Secretary of the newly formed Goulburns Swans in 2004. The Goulburn Swans won the premiership in their first season which equalled the feat of the Goulburn Waratahs 72 years earlier.

Goulburn City Swans

Local Media
Goulburn Post

Home Ground
Kenmore Oval, Off Taralga Road, Goulburn

Australia’s first inland city, Goulburn is a regional city in the Southern Tablelands of NSW, located 195 km south-west of Sydney and 90 km north-east of Canberra. Goulburn is a railhead on the Main Southern line and service centre for the surrounding pastoral industry and a stopover for those travelling on the Hume Highway. It is also home to the Big Merino, the world’s largest concrete sheep.

2004, 2009, 2015