Peel Thunder

Peel Thunder AFL club

Peel Thunder AFL logoAbout
Peel Thunder was formed in 1996 after the West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) granted a ninth licence in the WAFL to the Mandurah-Peel region. The licence was issued on the condition that the club be ready to compete in the 1997 Westar Rules competition. Geoff Miles was appointed as the club’s inaugural coach and Phil Gilbert appointed captain. The Thunder in 1997 won only one game against Claremont in the satellite town of Rockingham and finished last, with Scott Simister winning the inaugural best and fairest, and won only one further game in their next two seasons against East Perth at Perth Oval.

In the first 17 years of its existence, to the end of 2013, Peel Thunder won only 69 matches out of 334 played, or a 20.6% winning percentage, one of the poorest prolonged periods in any state-level club’s history in Australia. During that time, the club won 9 wooden spoons, finished outside the bottom two only twice, and never won as many games as it lost in a season. Its best season during that period was a sixth-place finish with a record of 8–12 in 2008.

In 2014 season, Peel signed a deal to serve as the host club for the Fremantle Dockers or at least 5 years, an arrangement which allows reserves players from Fremantle’s AFL list to play senior WAFL football for Peel. In 2015, the second season of this arrangement, Peel reached the finals for the first time in its history, finishing third on the ladder with a record of 13–7.

Peel Thunder

Home Ground
Rushton Park, Cnr. Dower Street & Elizabeth Drive, Mandurah

Mandurah is the second-largest city in WA, located approximately 72 km south of Perth. The city centre foreshore is home to a variety of wildlife including dolphins, pelicans, shags, and an abundance of marine life including the blue manna crab which has become synonymous with the area.