East Fremantle Sharks

East Fremantle Sharks AFL club

East Fremantle Sharks AFL logoAbout
The foundation of the Club in 1898 owes much to Tom Wilson and David (Dolly) Christy, along with businessman Sam Thomson.

To football supporters everywhere, a club’s reputation stands or falls according to the number of premierships won. Our achievements are so numerous, and champion players equally so, that several volumes would be needed to do justice to them.

In the first 10 years, 6 premierships came our way – and, according to the Club’s first historian, Dolph Heinrichs, we were blatantly robbed of another three – 1898, 1905 and 1907.

After 20 years, we had lifted the total to 10, and by 1946, we had won 21 and had been runners-up 17 times. Thirty-six consecutive premierships in the final four from 1916 to 1951 were made even more remarkable by setting an Australian record of 35 consecutive victories from July 28, 1945 to May 17, 1947 – and included in that run was the jewel in East Fremantle’s crown – the unbeaten season of 1946.

East Fremantle has a fierce rivalry with its Port cousin, South Fremantle, and the Foundation Day Derby between the two sides is a much anticipated highlight of the local football calendar. The club’s team song is sung to the tune of “Notre Dame Victory March”.

East Fremantle Sharks

Home Ground
East Fremantle Oval, Cnr. Moss Street & Marmion Street, East Fremantle

East Fremantle is a suburb of Perth, located 13 km south-west of the CBD. Two major roads – Canning Highway and Stirling Highway – pass through the suburb, which is also bounded to the north by the Swan River.

Fremantle is located at the mouth of the Swan River. Fremantle Harbour serves as the port of Perth and was the first area settled by the Swan River colonists in 1829. The city is named after Captain Charles Fremantle, the English naval officer who had pronounced possession of Western Australia and who established a camp at the site.

1900, 1902-03-04, 1906, 1908-09-10-11, 1914, 1918, 1925, 1928-29-30-31, 1933, 1937, 1943, 1945-46, 1957, 1965, 1974, 1979, 1985, 1992, 1994, 1998