Mayne Tigers

Mayne Tigers AFL club

Mayne Tigers AFL logo2About
The Mayne Tigers joined the Queensland Football League in 1925 and played in the top tier of Queensland football until 1999. After the 1999 season the club was actually excluded from the competition, whereupon it entered into a legal battle with the AFL which ended up in the Federal Court. Ultimately, Mayne was successful – a unique achievement for such a comparatively small club – and the 2001 season found it reinstated. Mayne struggled in the four years winning only 5 of 72 games and finishing last in all four years.

In 2014 Mayne competed in the QFA North competition. The Tigers were undefeated in 2014, winning the Grand Final. Footballers to have played for the club include Jason Akermanis, Richard Champion and Mick Nolan.

Mayne Tigers

Facebook group

Home Ground
Enoggera Memorial Park, Enoggera

Enoggera is a suburb of Brisbane, located 6 km northwest of the Brisbane CBD. The west of the suburb is dominated by Enoggera Hill. The name derives from the indigenous word “Euogerra”, meaning literally “sing-play” or song and dance.

1927-28, 1930-31, 1934-35, 1942, 1952, 1958, 1961-62, 1966-67, 1973, 1982, 2014-15