Coorparoo Kings

Coorparoo Kings AFL club

Coorparoo Kings AFL logoAbout
The Coorparoo Kings Australian Football Club was founded in 1996 by Craig Dixon and was originally named The Treasury Kings. Dixon worked at Brisbane’s Treasury Casino and was responsible for organising an annual ‘grudge’ match of Australian Rules Football between the Brisbane Treasury Casino and Gold Coast’s Jupiters Hotel and Casino.

In 1996, a number of players expressed interest in playing on a more regular basis, and the Kings were born. During the first couple of seasons the Kings competed in AFLSQ’s Division 3 and played under the name Treasury Kings at Yeronga’s home ground. In 1999, a move to the oval that was once the home of the historic and successful Coorparoo Roos and a promotion to Division 2, bought about the name change to the Coorparoo Kings.

The club currently has Seniors, Reserves and one under 19s team in AFL Queensland Colts competition. The club has a varying age group and boasts to be both a family and younger generation club with a very strong social motivation as well as competitive focus.

Coorparoo Kings


Home Ground
Giffin Park, 41 Birubi Street, Coorparoo

Coorparoo is a suburb of Brisbane, located 4 km southeast of Brisbane’s CBD. Coorparoo was chosen as the name of the suburb at a public meeting in 1875, before which it was known as Four Mile Camp. The name Coorparoo is likely derived from an Aboriginal name for Norman Creek, recorded by early surveyors as Koolpuroom.

2000-01, 2011-12-13, 2016